OFFICE OFTHE SECRETARYOF STATE • 211 HOWLETT • SPRINGFIELD, IL62756 • 217-524-0660
Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) Program
As a first time DUI offender in Illinois, you have automatically been enrolled in the Secretary of State’s Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) pro- gram, which under certain circumstances will allow you to drive during your statutory summary suspension (except the first 30 days of the suspension). An MDDP allows you to drive 24 hours per day, seven days a week, as long as you have a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) installed on the vehicle you are driving.
While a preliminary check of your driving record indicates that you are eligible for an MDDP, a more detailed inquiry will be made upon receipt of your application. You will be deemed ineligible if you fall into any of the following categories:
1.Under age 18;
2.Previously convicted of reckless homicide or aggravated DUI involving death;
3.Driving privileges are otherwise invalid; or
4.Death or great bodily harm resulted from your DUI arrest.
A commercial driver’s license (CDL) holder may be eligible for an MDDP to drive a non-commercial motor vehicle but may not operate a commercial motor vehicle with an MDDP.
In order to process your MDDP, please return in the envelope provided the application on page 2 of this letter by <enter date that is 60 days past the date that suspension begins>. Upon receipt of your application, the Secretary of State’s office will send you a detailed requirements letter and a form with the terms and conditions of the program.
Upon satisfaction of the requirements, your MDDP will be issued. At that time, you will have 14 days to have a BAIID installed on every vehicle you will be driving during your suspension.
If you need to drive an employer-owned vehicle during work hours and the vehicle is not specifically assigned to you, you may be eligible for an em- ployer exemption. While you would still be required to operate your personal vehicles only if equipped with a BAIID, the MDDP would allow you to drive employer-owned vehicles without a BAIID during work hours. Employment information must be verified with your employer before an employment ex- emption is granted. You will not be eligible for this exemption if you are self-employed, work for an immediate family member or are allowed to use work vehicles for personal use.
You may be eligible for a partial waiver of fees for the MDDP program based on your income level. A partial waiver of fees will be granted to those who submit proof that their income level is 150 percent of poverty level. Please mark the appropriate box on the application if you wish to be consid- ered for indigency.
Cost of Program
By law, you are required to pay a $30 per month monitoring fee, plus an $8 permit fee to the Secretary of State. This fee must be paid in full before your MDDP is issued. Total fees owed will be included in the requirements letter. These fees must be paid even if you are declared indigent.
There are seven vendors in Illinois that provide BAIIDs. These vendors charge a fee for the installation and monitoring of the BAIID. Each vendor sets its own fees. You are encouraged to make contact with all the vendors before choosing one. Vendor names and contact information is available at www.cyberdriveillinois.com (click Departments, BAIID).
Opting Out of the Program
You may choose to not participate in the MDDP program. However, you must complete an opt-out form in front of a judge during one of your court ap- pearances for the DUI ticket. If you opt out of the MDDP program, you may not legally drive a motor vehicle. If you choose to not participate and you are subsequently caught driving a vehicle during your suspension, you will be charged with a Class 4 felony. Penalties include possible imprisonment of 1-3 years, a minimum 30 days in jail or 300 hours of community service, and fines of up to $25,000.
For more information, please call the Secretary of State’s BAIID Division at 217-524-0660 or visit www.cyberdriveillinois.com.