Form DH 4089 at a glance
What it is: Department of Health Application for Biomedical Waste Generator Permit/Exemption.
Where and when to file: Submit the following information on this form to your local Department of Health Biomedical Waste Coordinator. Permits expire September 30 of each year.
A biomedical waste generator is required to apply for an annual biomedical waste permit and abide by the requirements of Chapter 64E-16, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.).
Applicant must be a legal entity, i.e.: individual, partnership, corporation, association, or public body.
A filled-in Form DH 4089 example: a dental office applies for a new permit

How to fill out Form DH 4089, box by box
Application for Permit or Exemption

1. Application for (choose one): Permit Exemption (attach appropriate documentation)
FOR CURRENTLY PERMITTED GENERATORS ONLY: A currently permitted biomedical waste generator, that produces less than 25 pounds of biomedical waste in each 30 day period, may claim an exemption from the fee and permitting requirements only of Chapter 64E-16, F.A.C.
A currently permitted biomedical waste generator applying for exemption from permitting must submit documentation from the previous 12 months showing the biomedical waste generated in each 30 day period during those 12 months was less than 25 lbs.
Documentation must include the amount of waste generated in each 30 day period for the previous 12 months and may be in the form of a monthly log or receipts.
Facility, owner and property owner

Submit the following information on this form to your local Department of Health Biomedical Waste Coordinator.
2. Facility Name: 3. Facility Address: Street City State Zip Code
4. Contact Person: Telephone: ( )
5. Name of Facility Owner: 6. Mailing Address of Facility Owner: Street City State Zip Code
7. Business Phone: ( ) 24-Hour Emergency Phone: ( )
8. Name of Property Owner: 9. Mailing Address of Property Owner: Street City State Zip Code
Method of Removal
Maximum weight and Branch Offices
Type of Facility

Check Type of Facility: 01. Hospital 02. Funeral Home 03. Dialysis Clinic 04. Nursing Home 05. Veterinarian 06. Medical Doctor 07. Dentist 08. Podiatrist 09. Osteopath 10. Home Health 11. State Laboratory/Clinic 12. Clinical Laboratory 13. Surgical Center/Walk-in Clinic 14. Blood Banks 16. Abortion Clinics 17. Other (specify) 18. Tattoo/Body Piercing
Common questions about Form DH 4089
Is there a deadline?
Permits expire September 30 of each year.
Are there fees?
The initial permit fee is $85.00 (checked November 2, 2026). The permit fee for renewal applications received by October 1 is $85.00 (checked November 2, 2026). The permit fee for renewal applications received after October 1 is $105.00 (checked November 2, 2026). State-owned and operated facilities are exempt from the permit fee.
Is there a penalty?
I understand that any misrepresentation of the facts in this application, or failure to comply with sanitary standards, is grounds for denial, administrative fine or revocation of the biomedical waste permit or exemption.
Sources
[1] Form DH 4089 (12/09), Application for Biomedical Waste Generator Permit/Exemption, Florida Department of Health (the Official source link on this page).




