Vehicle Moving Permit Reg 172 Online Details

Reg 172 form is a document that needs to be filled out by businesses when they are first registered for Value Added Tax (VAT). The document is used to provide the government with key information about the company, including their contact details and what type of business they are running. Failing to submit a Reg 172 form can result in fines and other penalties, so it's important to make sure it's filled out correctly and submitted on time. This guide will walk you through everything you need to know about the Reg 172 form, including how to complete it and where to submit it.

Here is the information concerning the file you were looking for to fill in. It will tell you how long it takes to complete reg 172 form, exactly what fields you will have to fill in and a few other specific details.

QuestionAnswer
Form NameReg 172 Form
Form Length1 pages
Fillable?No
Fillable fields0
Avg. time to fill out15 sec
Other namesreg 172 ca, how do i get a reg 172, reg 172 moving permit, vehicle moving permit pdf

Form Preview Example

Vehicle Industry News

VIN 2011–07

Moving Permits for Brake and Light Inspections

New Policy

Effective immediately, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will issue only one-day Vehicle Moving Permits (REG 172) if a brake and/or light inspection certificate is required and has not been submitted.

Once the brake and light certificates and all vehicle registration fees (current fees and any fees due within 60 days) have been submitted, a temporary operating permit (TOP) may be issued.

Procedures

To move a vehicle that is required to have a brake and/or light inspection, a REG 172 (valid for one day) may be obtained from a DMV field office. There is no fee for the REG 172; however, the vehicle registration fees must be paid or the vehicle must currently be on planned nonoperation status.

To obtain a TOP, submit the application, the original brake and light certificates, and all vehicle registration fees (current fees and any fees due within 60 days) to DMV, and request the TOP.

Background

To ensure public safety, the department may refuse registration if a vehicle is mechanically unsafe or unfit to be operated or moved on California highways.

Currently a 60-day TOP is issued when brake and/or light inspection certificates are required and have not been submitted. Due to public safety concerns, brake and light certificates must be completed and submitted to DMV before a TOP is issued.

Distribution

Notification that this memo is available online, at www.dmv.ca.gov under Publications was made via California DMV’s Automated E-mail Alert System in February 2011.

Contact

Call the DMV Customer Communications Section, at (916) 657-6560 for further clarification of this memo. Upon request, this document can be produced in Braille or large print.

JEAN SHIOMOTO, Deputy Director

Communication Programs Division

VIN2011- 07 © 2011 State of California, Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved.

Visit our Web Site—dmv.ca.gov