A Missouri small estate affidavit form allows the heirs of a deceased person to claim their assets. This applies to cases when the deceased person dies “intestate,” meaning they do not have an effective will. The estate of the deceased should be “small” under the state’s laws.
The spouse of the deceased and their immediate heirs are the ones who usually create and sign affidavit forms. In addition to the heirs’ information, such documents include a confirmation of the death and a list of the subject properties.
Build Your Document
Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes
Save and Print
Save progress and finish on any device, download and print anytime
Sign and Use
Your valid, lawyer-approved document is ready
A small estate affidavit is an efficient and straightforward way of resolving a transfer of a family member’s assets after their death. Note that the use of small estate affidavit forms and the content requirements differ from state to state. Keep reading to learn more about the specific requirements in the state of Missouri.
First of all, when somebody decides to use a small estate affidavit form in the United States, they need to make sure that the estate of the deceased individual counts as a “small estate” according to the law of the state where they lived and died.
Missouri has a strict limit on how much the deceased person could have in assets at the time of death. The assets should be worth less than $40,000 for them to be considered a small estate in Missouri. This applies to both the assets and values of their property.
Remember that you cannot file the Missouri small estate affidavit form until 30 days after the deceased person’s death.
Check that your case meets the requirements for a small estate affidavit:
If all the above apply, use our form building software to create a Missouri small estate affidavit form.
|Min. Time to Wait After Death||30 days|
|State Laws||Missouri Revised Statutes, Sections 473.090 to 493.107|
Check out our tool to personalize any form offered on our site to your needs. Here’s a list of some other widely-used Missouri forms we offer.
1. Identify the Deceased
Include the name of the deceased at the beginning of the form. Then repeat their name and add their address (at the time of death).
2. Specify the Date of Death
When providing the details of the deceased, write down the date of their death.
3. Read the Information About Attachments
Keep in mind that you need to submit specific appendices together with the form. Check carefully that your appendices meet the requirements.
4. Confirm that there is no Will
Confirm that the deceased has not left a will.
5. Provide your Details and Sign the Form
Any legal form should always be signed. The heirs must sign the form.
6. Complete the Appendices
Make sure that you include all the known assets.
7. Let a Notary Public Acknowledge the Form
Complete the creation of the form with the process of notarization.
8. Submit the Form to the Court
Sometimes, the court may ask you to append additional documents to the form (such as the certificate of death, for example).