Anyone willing to rent a commodity in California should first get acquainted with the local legal norms and regulations. Here, relationships between the landlords and tenants are regulated primarily by the State Civil Code and Code of Civil Procedure. Federal statutes concerning housing and urban development apply as well.
A lease is one of the forms or a rental agreement. There is obligatory information that one should include in such an agreement. Below you will find the list of data that will help define both parties’ rights and obligations:
California rental lease agreement templates – this particular category will help you know more about other rental lease agreements useful in California.
When signing the lease, pay special attention to the habitability and other disclosures typical for the area. Usually, the landlords tend to include the California Flood Disclosure and Proposition 65 Warning in the Lease Agreement itself. It is a very important document, as the state is located in the high-risk zone, and you need to secure your safety and the safety of the subject premises.
A lease agreement may be drawn up for a term over a year (general) or less than a year (month-to-month). Upon its expiration date, a general lease agreement becomes a monthly tenancy if approved by the landlord. Either side can terminate a month-to-month agreement by sending a 30-day written notice.
|Document Name||California Lease Termination Form (30-Day Notice)|
|Other Names||California 30-day Notice to Vacate, California Lease Termination Notice|
|Relevant Laws||California Civil Code, Section 1946.1|
|Avg. Time to Fill Out||9 minutes|
|# of Fillable Fields||34|
|Available Formats||Adobe PDF|
If you decided to terminate your lease agreement in California, use a notice template. You can search for it online, get legal advice, or use our form-building software tools.
Either party is entitled to the right to terminate the agreement before its expiration date. Usually, for tenancies during less than a year, the landlord can send the tenant a 30-day Notice to Quit. The same conditions apply to the tenant. Willing to terminate the agreement, he or she should send a 30-day Notice to the landlord.
It is important to mention that in rent-controlled cities, a landlord cannot evict his residents for just any reason. Thus, if the premises are located in such a place, the landlord may not be able to terminate the lease on a 30-day notice.
The notice must be done in a written form and have the following contents.
If the Notice is addressed to the tenant by the landlord:
If the Notice is addressed to the landlord by the tenant:
Once the landlord decides to file the 30-Day Notice to Quit, they should deliver it to the tenant either by first-class mail or in person. Technically, the landlord only needs to send the notice to the subject dwelling unit regardless of the tenant’s presence, and that would still be lawful proof of eviction announcement.
Meanwhile, if the tenant wants to file a Notice to Vacate, they should deliver the paper to the landlord to the physical address indicated in the agreement and provide proof of delivery (and that is a compulsory condition).
Try our document builder to customize any form on FormsPal to your preferences. Here is a number of various other printable California forms we provide.