In some cases, a conflict happens between two parties of a leasing deal, and one should leave the property of another. To make an eviction legal, landlords in the US should notify tenants with a special document: an eviction notice. When searching for Connecticut eviction notice templates, use our form building software to download one.
The main reasons to create an eviction notice template and send it to a renter in Connecticut is a delay in payment for rent or a desire of an owner to empty the leased premises. Because the reasons differ, the periods when a tenant should receive a notice and the templates of notice will be different, too.
Build Your Document
Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes
Save and Print
Save progress and finish on any device, download and print anytime
Sign and Use
Your valid, lawyer-approved document is ready
In Connecticut, the laws tied to relations between an owner and a renter are mostly incorporated in Title 47a. In this Title, Chapter 832 mentions the rules for the eviction of renters in this state.
According to Section 47a-15a of this Chapter, the maximum period of rent payment delay in Connecticut is nine days. If a renter pays for space week by week, a period shortens to four days.
Section 47a-23(a) prescribes that an owner has to notify a renter about moving out in no less than three days before the desired date of eviction in case of payment delay or inappropriate actions.
|Rent Grace Period||9 days|
|Notice of Non-Payment||3 days|
|Notice of Non-Compliance||15 days|
|State Laws||Connecticut Revised Statutes, Chapter 832, Sections 47a-23 to 47a-42a|
There are two common types of eviction notice in Connecticut. These types include:
Notice to Quit for Month-to-Month Lease Agreement
This form should be sent to a renter if a landlord has decided to clear the rented premises (and if both sides have signed a month-to-month agreement). No law in Connecticut sets a certain period of notice. So, to define a suitable period, a landlord should check the signed lease agreement.
3-Day Notice to Quit
This form might be used by a landlord if a tenant either has delayed money transferring or has conducted any kind of action that is inappropriate for a landlord (and this action cannot be fixed).
Popular Local Eviction Notice Forms
A process of eviction in the United States might be accompanied by submitting documents to the court. Our guide suggests steps to complete if something goes wrong and you need to ask public authorities for help (if you are the one who is asking a renter to move out).
If the “grace period” that a tenant has to complete the payment has passed, you (as a landlord) may proceed to the completion of an eviction notice and sending the document to a tenant. A form has to arrive at a tenant via the local process server.
After a renter has not given response or has not paid for rent, you may apply to the local court. To apply, you should prepare several documents that we have described below. Also, get ready to pay a required fee of $175. When you have delivered all the documents with a copy of the first notice for the renter’s quitting, a clerk in the court will indicate the day of return.
Further, you will have two options: either a tenant will react, and you will solve the problem together, or there will be no reaction. In case a tenant has not responded, you may ask the court for judgment by default.
When you apply to court trying to get a tenant out of your premises, some legal forms should be provided. The list of such forms in Connecticut includes:
A complaint is a document that describes why the case should begin, and the renter should leave the rented space. In Connecticut, there are two types of a complaint: for non-payment of rent and for a lapse of time. Landlords need this form to apply to court.
This document lets a renter respond to the landlord’s claims.
It should be provided by a renter with the Answer form. The Appearance form demonstrates the plans of a renter to come to court.
In case a renter has not moved out after receiving a notice, an owner has to complete a summons form and submit it to a clerk of the court.
When a landlord wins in court, a renter has only five days to leave the landlord’s property. If it does not happen, this form should be completed and transferred to a renter. Since then, a renter has 24 hours to leave. If he or she still stays, a landlord may apply to public authorities to evict a renter forcefully.
If a renter did not pay in time, as stated in a lease agreement, this form should be completed.
If a renter has not appeared in court (or decided not to participate or respond), an owner may submit this form and ask for the decision of the court.
We offer a multitude of popular Connecticut templates to anyone in quest of convenience when handling various paperwork in the state.