Free Oklahoma Living Will Form

Note that an Advance Directive is sometimes also referred to by other names, such as Health Care Power of Attorney, Medical Power of Attorney, Living Will, or Health Care Directive. It is a legal document that can be in writing or electronic form, created by people over 18 years of age and in their right mind. The Oklahoma Advance Directive for Health Care includes instructions if you (the declarant) cannot decide about your health care on your own. Also, with the help of this document, the principal can designate their Health Care Agent. This is a person who will have the right to make decisions regarding the health care of the declarant if the declarant is unconscious or is unable to make decisions regarding their health care on their own.

The creation of this document is a priority for the elderly and people with fatal diseases. But the creation of this document is recommended for all people over 18 years old in case of an unforeseen incident.

It is important to keep Oklahoma Advance Directive in a safe but easily accessible place always to have it at hand.

The living will template must be signed by two witnesses over 18 years of age.

Signing Requirements and Laws

According to 63 OK Stat § 63-3101.4 (2019), anyone 18 years of age or older with a sound mind can issue an Advance Health Directive. The document must be signed in front of two witnesses who are 18 years of age or older. Moreover, both witnesses should not be the heirs of the principal.

Important Terms and Definitions

Relevant terms are outlined in Title 63, Section 3101.3 of the Oklahoma Statutes.

  • Attending physician — a qualified medical professional who is responsible for the patient’s condition. They should be consulted with the patient’s Advance Health Directive to know what life-sustaining procedures can be prescribed.
  • Declarant — this is the person behind the Advance Health Directive. If the document contains a question about your health care, you are a declarant.
  • Qualified patient — any patient 18 years of age or older who has issued an Advance Health Directive and has been declared incapacitated for one reason or another. If you have created an Advance Health Directive and are incapacitated at the time of the medical procedure, you are a qualified patient.
  • Life-sustaining treatment — these are any medical procedures aimed at prolonging the death process but not healing the patient.
  • A terminal condition is an incurable health problem that should result in the patient’s death six months or less from the date of diagnosis. For a health problem to be considered a Terminal condition, the patient’s attending physician must confirm such a diagnosis.

For an  Advance Health Directive to be considered valid, it must be signed in front of two witnesses. Both witnesses must be 18 years of age or older and not be heirs of the declarant.

If all of the above requirements are met, the Advance Health Directive is considered valid immediately after signing by the declarant and two witnesses.

Template Preview
Download your fillable Oklahoma Living Will templates in PDF, DOC, or ODT formats

Steps to Fill Out the Form

1. Download the form

Download the Advance Health Directive in any convenient format to print and fill out in writing. More efficiently, you can use our convenient Online Forms Building Software to fill out the Oklahoma Living Will form.

2. Identify The Declarant

Enter your legal full name and date of birth in Day / Month / Year format to identify the declarant’s identity.

3. Input Essential Info

Answer the Advance Health Directive’s basic questions to outline the instructions that a Health Care Agent and attending physician should follow if you cannot make these decisions independently.

4. Identify a Health Care Agent

Identify who will be your Health Care Agent by providing their full legal name and date of birth. At the same stage, you need to determine those points on which the Health Care Agent will have the right to decide if your inability to do it yourself. Persons 18 years and older can become a Health Care Agent.

5. Sign Advance Health Directive

For the Advance Health Directive to become valid, the declarant must be 18 years of age or older and must have a signature and a date. Two witnesses’ signatures are also required. Both of the witnesses must be 18 years of age or older. Witnesses must not be the heirs of the declarant.

Published: Nov 3, 2020