New Jersey Eviction Notice Forms

New Jersey eviction notice is a type of official document that is drawn up by the landlord in case the landlord wants to terminate the lease of the premises. Most often, this form is drawn up if the renter has violated any terms of the lease of the premises, has not rendered the rent or ruined the property.

A New Jersey eviction notice is one of the most important stages of eviction of renters. If the renter does not leave the leased territory within the specified time frame, the landlord has the right to sue the renter.

New Jersey eviction notice is a way to make the act of eviction of renters legal, safe, and bereft of potential financial risks. There are two types of the eviction notice template, each for a specific reason for eviction of renters. It is recommended that you carefully read the laws and regulations for eviction of renters to avoid problems and court proceedings.

New Jersey Eviction Notice Form

Create a free high-quality New Jersey Eviction Notice online now!

Build Your Document

Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes

Save and Print

Save progress and finish on any device, download and print anytime

Sign and Use

Your valid, lawyer-approved document is ready

... or download your New Jersey Eviction Notice Forms as a  PDF file
Create a free high-quality New Jersey Eviction Notice online now!

New Jersey Eviction Laws

If you are considering issuing an eviction notice, we recommend that you carefully review New Jersey laws and renter eviction requirements. Responsible lease termination will help you and your renters avoid potential financial risks and terminate the lease with minimal loss.

Below you will find a list of New Jersey laws that govern the removal of renters and the cancellation process and a description of what those laws contain.

  • Termination of the monthly rental agreement

According to New Jersey Revised Statutes §2A: 18-56, the landlord must issue a notice of eviction no later than 30 days before the end of the lease. Drawing up this eviction notice form is an important and mandatory step in terminating a monthly lease of premises, as it gives the renter and landlord enough time to make the eviction process safe for all parties.

  • Rent Grace Period

The grace period for rent is five days, according to §2a-42-6.1. It should be noted, however, that the landlord is not obliged to remind renters that the due date for payment of the rent has already arrived.

  • Failure to Pay Rent

The landlord is not required to remind lessees that the due date for rent is approaching, and non-payment of rent is one of the most common reasons for the eviction of renters. According to §2A: 18-61.2, the landlord can issue a departure notice five days after the date the rent is paid.

  • Illegal Actions Or Non-Compliance

According to §2A: 18-53 (c), in the notice of eviction, the landlord has the right to indicate a three-day eviction period if renters do not comply with the requirements of the lease agreement or commit illegal actions on the territory of the leased premises. It also applies to cases of property damage.

New Jersey Eviction Notice Laws Details

Rent Grace Period 5 days
Notice of Non-Payment 30 days
Notice of Non-Compliance 30 days
State Laws New Jersey Statutes, Sections 2A:18-53 to 2A:18-84

Eviction Notice Types Used in New Jersey

There are two types of eviction notices in New Jersey, one with a three-day deadline and the other with a 30-day deadline. Below you will find information on all types of eviction notices, as well as information on when a particular type of eviction notice is needed.

Notice of Termination of a Monthly Rental Agreement

This type of eviction notice is used to terminate a monthly rental agreement. It is noteworthy that a notice of eviction 30 days in advance can be drawn up by both the renter and the landlord. At the same time, this type of notice also equals the termination of the contract due to violations of the lease agreement and only informs about the termination of the lease agreement.

A monthly lease of premises is one of the most common among lease types. That is why creating this form of notice of eviction is a prerequisite for terminating the lease. It is done to make the termination process comfortable for all parties and avoid potential financial risks and litigation.

Eviction Notice For All Violation Types

There is a type of eviction notice with a three-day deadline. This type of eviction notice is universal both in the case of non-payment of the lease, and in the event of non-compliance with the lease, like committing illegal actions, property damage, and so on. Such an eviction notice must state the reason for the eviction of the renter and indicate that the lessee has no more than three days to leave the premises.

Template Preview
Create a free high-quality New Jersey Eviction Notice online now!

Eviction Process in New Jersey

If your goal is to evict renters, you need to follow a few simple steps, which are listed below.

  • Select the Type of Eviction Notice

Based on the reasons for terminating the contract, choose one of two types of eviction notice, with a deadline of 30 or three days.

  • Create an Eviction Notice

The first step in creating an eviction notice is to download the form you need. Both types of eviction notices are available for download on our website. To make the process of creating an eviction notice successful, use our form building software.

  • Deliver an Eviction Notice

It is necessary to deliver the completed eviction notice immediately after drawing up. For sending this type of documents, it is recommended to use a courier service or send a letter by registered mail.

  • Go to Court

If the lessee does not leave the rented premises within the specified timeframe, the landlord has the right to apply to the court for further proceedings and forced eviction of the renter.

New Jersey Eviction Court Forms

Below you will find a list of all the required forms to submit to the court.

  • Warrant of Possession

This paperwork informs that the rented space is the property of the landlord, and the renter must leave the location no later than 24 hours later.

  • Summons

This form is sent to the renter to inform him or her that a court hearing will be held on their case. This form is sent after the date of the trial is known.

  • Complaint

This form is prepared by the landlord. The complaint contains information about which terms of the lease agreement for the premises have been violated by the renter.

Published: Jul 16, 2022
Jennifer M. Settles
Jennifer M. Settles
Author & Attorney
With over 25 years of experience as a business and transactional attorney, Jennifer has mastered the craft of closing highly successful deals for her clients. Through her wide-ranging expertise in commercial contracts, real estate transactions, M&A and corporate law, Jennifer secures results that are second-to-none.