Residential property has always been in high demand. With globalization and increased mobility level, it is now in more request than ever. That is why it is essential to understand the local rental norms and regulations of the state you are relocating to.
The relations between the landlord and the tenant in the state are regulated by the Texas Property Code. You may refer to this document for any specific situation interpretation.
Build Your Document
Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes
Save and Print
Save progress and finish on any device, download and print anytime
Sign and Use
Your valid, lawyer-approved document is ready
Particular rental aspects differ from state to state. However, the basic principle of the landlord-tenant relations stays the same—it is interdependency. The landlord provides rental services to the tenant, whilst the latter agrees to pay for those services and keep the property clean and safe. To establish a binding legal obligation on the subject, parties conclude a rental agreement.
The lease may be long-term and short-term. Any lease agreement shall contain the following information:
|Document Name||Texas Rental Lease Agreement Form|
|Other Names||TX Rental Lease, Texas Residential Lease Agreement|
|Relevant Laws||Texas Statutes, Property Code, Title 8, Chapter 92|
|Security Deposit Amount||No limit|
|Security Deposit Return||Thirty (30) days from vacation of tenant|
|Avg. Time to Fill Out||18 minutes|
|# of Fillable Fields||119|
|Available Formats||Adobe PDF|
You can use legal advice to draft a rental agreement or download a copy online. We strongly recommend you to use our latest software to build the necessary agreement form.
The security deposit amount is defined by the Texas lease agreement. The landlord has to return the security funds within 30 days after the lease termination and vacation of the premises. The security deposit is nonrefundable if significant damage was caused to the property by the tenant. However, if the damage occurs as a result of fire, earthquake, storm, or any other natural disaster to the point where the unit becomes inhabitable, both parties shall terminate the agreement.
The landlord, as well as their agent or a lawful representative, is entitled the right to enter the rented property during working hours without notice for the following purposes:
If the tenant fails to provide access under these circumstances for any reason, they will be in default.
The tenant shall sign the Lead-based Paint Disclosure along with the lease agreement. It is connected with the fact that any dwelling unit constructed before 1978 may still have the finish containing trails of paint hazards. Therefore, the tenant cannot keep any flammable or explosive item at the premises as doing so might increase the risk of a fire or an explosion.
The landlord, in turn, should additionally provide the tenant with an information brochure on lead-based paint hazards.
Lease agreements in Texas are not subject to recording in any local Public Records office. In fact, if the tenant does record it, the landlord will have every right to terminate such an agreement immediately and will be entitled to all the remedies.
Either party to the deal can terminate their obligations before its expiration date. Use a 30-day Termination Notice to end a nonrenewal or monthly tenancy. Use a seven-day Termination Notice to end a week-to-week tenancy. Only the landlords can end a tenancy on a three-day Pay or Quit Notice in cases when the tenant fails to make his or her payments in time.
Under Section 92.016, some tenants (family violence survivors, military personnel) may have preferential statutory rights to terminate the lease early.
Different popular Texas templates available for download here and that can be personalized in our simple document maker.