Rental lease agreements in the state of Florida establish lawful relationships between a landlord and a tenant committed to paper. In the US, the terms and conditions to maintain corresponding relations legitimately differ from state to state and, in some cases, from county to county. In Florida, they are regulated by Title VI, Chapter 83 of the Florida Statutes.
Under Florida laws, the agreements become legit only when completed and authorized in writing by both the landlord (lessor, the owner) and the tenant (lessee). The essence of the document is to show that the premises owner provides the tenant a dwelling unit or commercial space for personal uses in exchange for periodic payments (rent).
The lease agreement creates extra protection for both parties by preventing potential abuse of power on the part of landlords and possible lack of responsibility on the part of tenants.
Build Your Document
Answer a few simple questions to make your document in minutes
Save and Print
Save progress and finish on any device, download and print anytime
Sign and Use
Your valid, lawyer-approved document is ready
Florida introduces several types of lease agreements. You can generate your preferred type using templates from our latest software. The list below shows the most common types of lease agreements:
|Document Name||Florida Rental Lease Agreement Form|
|Other Names||FL Rental Lease, Florida Residential Lease Agreement|
|Relevant Laws||Florida Statutes, Title VI, Chapter 83, Part II|
|Security Deposit Amount||No limit|
|Security Deposit Return||Thirty (30) days (if deductions), or fifteen (15) days (if no deductions)|
|Avg. Time to Fill Out||18 minutes|
|# of Fillable Fields||119|
|Available Formats||Adobe PDF|
Once rendering a decision to rent or grant a lease of a dwelling or commercial unit, you should be aware of the general requirements by the state of Florida.
Below, you will find some requirements that may be of great assistance both for potential lessors and lessees.
Relying on Title VI, Chapter 83.50 of the Florida Statutes, the landlord or a designated agent should provide their legal name and address to the tenant(s).
A security deposit section covers the terms and regulations of deposit payment (if any) and must be included in every agreement.
A security deposit is an amount of money a landlord withholds from the tenant to provide security if the tenant damages the property in some way. The landlord has 30 days to inform the lessee of the account bank where the deposit is being held and provides a deposit receipt. Florida doesn’t provide any recommendations on the deposit amount.
Every Security Deposit section must contain the text from Title VI, Chapter 83.49-2 (d) of the Florida Statutes.
Suppose there are no deductions from the security payment; the lessor should give back the whole sum within 15 days. Otherwise, the property owner must return the deposit not later than 30 days after the tenant vacating.
The landlord provides a notice to terminate a lease relying on the type of renting agreement. The terms are described in Title VI, Chapter 83.57 of the Florida Statutes and are as follows:
Following Title VI, Chapter 83.53 of the Florida Statutes, the tenant cannot deny the landlord of periodical inspections of the premises. However, any lessor must notify the tenants at least 12 hours before any reasonable inspection. The purpose of this visitation may be for repairs or for any other agreed terms. Abuse of power may be considered harassment and discrimination.
The property owner is granted ready access without notifying the lessees if:
Florida introduces two reasonable arguments for eviction.
Other important Florida templates available for download on FormsPal and that can be customized in our simple document builder.